Steven Paul

Steven M. Paul, M.D., is the Director of the Helen and Robert Appel Alzheimer’s Disease Research Institute and Professor of Neurology (Neuroscience) and Psychiatry at Weill Cornell Medical College. He was formerly the Executive Vice President of Science and Technology and President of the Lilly Research Laboratories (LRL) of Eli Lilly and Company. In his role as Lilly’s R&D leader, Dr. Paul led the R&D efforts of over 8,000 LRL scientists and physician investigators with an annual R&D budget of over $4.0 billion. In 2004, Lilly received the Best Late-Stage Pipeline Award in 2005 the Most Innovative Pipeline Award, in 2008 the Best Neuroscience Pipeline Award and 2010 the Best Early-stage Pipeline Award from R&D Directions (an independent trade publication). In 2005, Dr. Paul was named Chief Scientific Officer of the Year as one of the Annual Pharmaceutical Achievement Awards. Currently, Lilly has over 70 drug candidates in clinical development, almost three times the number it had in 2005, and the most in its history, including a large number of biologics and oncology compounds. Under Dr. Paul’s leadership of CNS and as President of LRL, several of the company’s most successful new medicines were developed and launched including Zyprexa®, Cymbalta® and Strattera® as well as Cialis®, Byetta®, Alimta® and most recently, Effient™. Dr. Paul was also a member of Lilly’s Executive and Operations Committees. Prior to assuming his position at Lilly, Dr. Paul served as Scientific Director of the National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH/NIH) in Bethesda, Maryland.

Dr. Paul received his Bachelor of Arts degree, Magna Cum Laude with honors in Biology and Psychology from Tulane University, in 1972. He received his Master of Science degree in Anatomy (Neuroanatomy) and his Doctor of Medicine degree, both in 1975, from the Tulane University School of Medicine. Following a residency in Psychiatry at the University of Chicago, Pritzker School of Medicine, he was awarded a research fellowship in the Pharmacology Research Associate Training Program of the National Institute of General Medical Science (NIGMS), to work with Nobel Laureate Dr. Julius Axelrod. In 1982, Dr. Paul was appointed Chief of the Clinical Neuroscience Branch as well as Chief of the Section on Preclinical Studies, IRP, NIMH. In addition to serving as the Scientific Director of NIMH (1988-1993), Dr. Paul has held adjunct appointments at several universities, including the Indiana University School of Medicine.

Prior to assuming his position at the Lilly Research Laboratories, Dr. Paul also served as Medical Director in the Commissioned Corps of the United States Public Health Service. He is Board Certified by the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology and has been elected a Fellow in the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP), and the Collegium Internationale NeuroPsychopharmacologicum (CINP). He has served on the ACNP Council and was elected President of the ACNP (1999). Dr. Paul is licensed to practice medicine in the States of Maryland and Indiana.

Dr. Paul is a member of various professional and honorary societies, which include the Tulane Scholars and Fellows; Phi Eta Sigma; Alpha Epsilon Delta; Sigma Xi; Phi Beta Kappa; and the Alpha Omega Alpha Honorary Medical Society. He is the recipient of many honors and scientific recognitions, including: The A. E. Bennett Award of the Society of Biological Psychiatry; the Arthur S. Flemming Award by the Downtown Jaycees (outstanding research by a government employee); the Allan C. Davis Medal (Outstanding Young Scientist Award) of the Maryland Academy of Sciences; the Foundations' Fund Prize for Research of the American Psychiatric Association, the Daniel H. Efron Award of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology (ACNP); the Max Hamilton Award of the Collegium Internationale NeuroPsychopharmacologicum (CINP); the Distinguished Service Medal of the USPHS and the Chief Scientific Officer of the Year Award. In 1997, Dr. Paul was elected to membership in the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academy of Sciences and currently serves on the IOM’s Board on Health Sciences Policy. In 2009 Dr. Paul was elected a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) .

Dr. Paul's own research activities have established an important role for specific neurotransmitter receptors in mediating the central actions of various neuroactive drugs. Among his many contributions has been the delineation of the role of receptors for the inhibitory neurotransmitter GABA in mediating the behavioral effects of benzodiazepines, barbiturates, short-chain alcohols as well as a novel class of neuroactive steroids. Despite his administrative responsibilities at Lilly, Dr. Paul worked on several new therapeutic approaches for Alzheimer’s disease, resulting in the discovery of a novel monoclonal antibody (solanezumab) directed at the amyloid -peptide which is currently in phase III clinical trials as a potential disease-modifying therapy for Alzheimer’s disease.

Dr. Paul has authored or co-authored over 500 papers and invited book chapters and was listed as one of the most highly cited scientists in the world (top 50 in Neuroscience) (1980-2000) by the Institute for Scientific Information (I.S.I.), Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He holds 9 patents on inventions made both at NIH and Lilly. Dr. Paul serves on the Editorial Boards of several scientific journals and has served on several NIH extramural and intramural committees. He currently serves on the Scientific Advisory Boards of the Allen Institute for Brain Sciences and the Institute on Aging at the University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine. Dr. Paul serves on the Board of Directors (or is a Trustee) of the Sigma-Aldrich Corporation, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals, DemeRx, Seaside Therapeutics, PsychoGenics, Mind Research Network, and the Foundation for the NIH. Dr. Paul is also a Venture Partner with Third Rock Ventures. Dr. Paul served as a member of the NIGMS Advisory Council (1996-1999), and was appointed by the Secretary of HHS as a member of the Advisory Committee to the Director of NIH (2001-2006) and is currently a member of the National Advisory Mental Health Council, NIMH (2009-2012).