Jeffery Kelly

Jeffery W. Kelly, Ph.D is the Lita Annenberg Hazen Professor of Chemistry in the Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology at The Scripps Research Institute. Dr. Kelly co-founded Proteostasis Therapeutics, as well as FoldRx Pharmaceuticals, and is a leading scientist in the field of protein folding and misfolding disease research. The central theme of his group’s research is to understand the mechanisms of protein folding and to understand the basis for protein misfolding and/or aggregation leading to loss-of-function and degenerative diseases. Manipulation of the kinetics and thermodynamics of protein folding and/or misfolding by using carefully designed small molecules synthesized by Dr. Kelly’s laboratory has led to the discovery of first-in-class drugs for the amelioration of loss-of-function diseases such as Gaucher’s disease, and gain-of-toxic function neurodegenerative diseases such as the transthyretin amyloidoses and Alzheimer's disease. His research also involves the discovery of small molecules that influence biology of proteome maintenance or proteostasis, with the goal of treating age onset degenerative diseases and inherited loss-of-function maladies.

Since 1997, Dr. Kelly has been the Lita Annenberg Hazen Professor of Chemistry in the Skaggs Institute for Chemical Biology. He has also served as the Vice President of Academic Affairs and Dean of Graduate Studies of the Kellogg School of Science and Technology at The Scripps Research Institute in La Jolla, California. Currently he is serving as the Chairman of Molecular and Experimental Medicine at Scripps. Prior to that, from 1989 to 1997, Dr. Kelly rose to the rank of Professor of Chemistry at Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas.

Kelly’s efforts have been recognized by the Searle Scholar Award in Biomedical Sciences, 1991-1994; the Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher Scholar Award, 1994; the Texas A&M University Teacher Scholar Award, 1994-1995; the Biophysical Society National Lecturer, 1999; the State University of New York at Fredonia Alumni Distinguished Achievement Award, 2000; the State University of New York at Fredonia Chemistry Department Alumni Award, 2000; the American Chemical Society Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award, 2001; the National Institutes of Health Merit Award, 2006; and the Vincent du Vigneaud Award, The American Peptide Society, 2008. He was elected as President of the Protein Society (2005-2007).