Cherry Murray

Cherry Murray has BS and PhD degrees in physics from MIT. Her expertise is in condensed matter and materials physics, phase transitions, light scattering and surface physics, as well as the management of science and technology.

She became Dean of the Harvard School of Engineering and Applied Science and John A. and Elizabeth S. Armstrong Professor of Engineering and Applied Science and Professor of Physics in July, 2009. As Dean, she manages new faculty recruitment and faculty relations; directs and leads strategic planning; coordinates fundraising and alumni relations; determines and implements educational, research, and administrative goals for the most recent new School of Harvard. Previous to that she was Deputy Director and then Principal Associate Director for Science and Technology at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory from December 2004. She led the Laboratory's science and technology activities including management of 3500 scientists and engineers and the development of the strategic science and technology plan. Formally Senior Vice President for Physical Sciences and Wireless Research at Bell Labs, Lucent Technologies, Dr. Murray first joined Bell Labs in 1978. She is a member of the National Academy of Science, the National Academy of Engineering and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. Dr. Murray is on the board and fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and past chair of the Physics Section of AAAS, as well as fellow and Past President of the American Physical Society (APS). She serves on the APS and American Institute of Physics Governing Boards and chairs the National Research Council Division of Engineering and Physical Science Committee. She is a member of the National Academies’ Committee on International Security and Arms Control. In 1989, she won the APS Maria Goeppert-Mayer Award, and in 2005, the APS George E. Pake Prize. She is the author of two patents and more than 75 publications. Discover Magazine named her one of the “50 Most Important Women in Science” in 2002.